If we’re friends in real life or moots on Twitter, you may have noticed the amount of environment and climate-change related tweets I’ve shared. I am very passionate about protecting the environment and its been my dream to pursue a higher degree in it since my 2nd year in college.

Since I’m not sure yet when that is going to happen, I try to build knowledge on the relevant issues by reading from important and credible articles available online. In terms of books, so far, I have read only one climate-change non-fiction book: The Uninhabitable Earth by David Wallace-Wells. Here are the five other books I would love to get a copy of from my environmental non-fiction TBR!


Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squids: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change

by Thor Hanson

The remarkable story of how plants and animals are responding to climate change: adjusting, evolving, and sometimes dying out.


Don’t Even Think About It: Why Our Brains Are Wired to Ignore Climate Change

by George Marshall

Most of us recognize that climate change is real yet we do nothing to stop it. What is the psychological mechanism that allows us to know something is true but act as if it is not?


The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert

Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us.


All We Can Save: Truth, Courage, Solutions for the Climate Crisis

by Ayana Elizabeth John son & Katharine K. Wilkinson

While it’s clear that women and girls are vital voices and agents of change for this planet, they are too often missing from the proverbial table. More than a problem of bias, it’s a dynamic that sets us up for failure. To change everything, we need everyone.


A Life on Our Planet: My Witness Statement and a Vision for the Future

by David Attenborough

A Life on Our Planet is my witness statement, and my vision for the future. It is the story of how we came to make this, our greatest mistake – and how, if we act now, we can yet put it right.


Let’s Discuss!

💭 Do you enjoy reading non-fiction books?

💭 Have you read any of the books mentioned above? What are your thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Five Environmental Non-Fiction Books on my TBR

  1. This is such a lovely and relevant list!! ❤

    I don't read nonfic for leisure much because I already drown in so much research for work, but if I was inclined to it, I'd probably pick up The Sixth Extinction. In my global history class, I teach a short module on natural environment, progress, and societal collapse, and this sounds like good material for that topic. 👀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an interesting list! I do read non fiction a lot though I must admit that I haven’t really focused much on environment-related books. I’ll try to add some of these in my TBR and hopefully will read at least one. Thanks for this post, Mae!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment